Sexual Abuse Cases
Sexual abuse is a traumatic and overwhelming experience. Victims may have a difficult time reporting the abuser, especially if there is a trusted relationship between the victim and the perpetrator such as priest-parishioner, teacher-student, coach-athlete, doctor-patient, or employer-employee.
Victims of sexual abuse are encouraged to make a report to the police. In addition to criminal action, victims of sexual violence deserve to seek justice on their own in court. Victims have the right to bring a civil action. A civil case can be filed against your abuser or an organization that failed to protect you (such as a school or church). You may be entitled to economic and non-economic damages, including compensation for your pain and suffering.
On June 12, 2018, legislation was signed into law in Michigan giving victims of sexual assault more time to file civil complaints in Michigan. The law extends the statute of limitations in sexual assault cases to 10 years. If the victim is under 18 years old, the new law allows a civil case to be filed before the survivor is 28-years-old or three years after the victim discovers he or she been the victim of sexual assault.